Forestry in South Africa
Saturday, July 24, 2021

click here to see
all logo's

March : NMMU George acknowledges Saasveld stalwarts

previous page
3 March, 2014

NMMU George acknowledges Saasveld stalwarts

Georg von dem Bussche, former forestry regional director and current environmental specialist and consultant, was recently acknowledged for his outstanding and dedicated service to the forestry industry over many years.

Current NMMU George lecturers, as well as former Saasveld stalwarts who have played a key role in the evolution of the former Saasveld forestry college to a fully-fledged university were also present.

The group included former Campus Principal, Joh Scriba; Albie Colton, first MTech-lecturer at Saasveld; Sarel Theron (former lecturer in forest silviculture); Richard Taylor, former wood technology lecturer; Anna Triebner (part-time lecturer in forest biometry/-statistics) and Richard van Tonder, a former residence manager at Saasveld and lecturer in fire protection.

NMMU George acknowledges Saasveld stalwarts

Andrew McEwan, lecturer in forest engineering at NMMU George and chairperson of the South Cape Branch of the South African Institute of Forestry (SAIF) presented a special service award to Georg von dem Bussche to acknowledge his outstanding role in the forestry industry and dedicated service to the SAIF.

NMMU George acknowledges Saasveld stalwarts

Joh Scriba and his wife, Kathy, are featured in the middle, left, followed by Albie Colton, Sarel Theron (part-time lecturer at NMMU George); his wife, Anna Theron, and Tiaan Pool, full-time lecturer at NMMU George campus with fire protection as specialisation area. Dr Josua Louw, Director of the School of Natural Resource Management is featured at the back (left), with lecturers Johan Jordaan (Agricultural Management) and Barry Muller (Wood Technology) to the right, followed by Richard and Toekie van Tonder; Georg von dem Bussche and part-time lecturer, Francois Borman. Willie Louw, forestry lecturer who specialises in forestry management, is seated in front. 

Source: Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University